Album cover


  1. Underground 
  2. Shore Leave 
  3. Dave The Butcher 
  4. Johnsburg Illinois 
  5. Sixteen Shells From A Thirty Ought Six 
  6. Town With No Cheer 
  7. In The Neighbourhood 
  8. Just Another Sucker On The Vine 
  9. Franks Wild Years 
  10. Swordfishtrombones 
  11. Down Down Down 
  12. Soldiers Things 
  13. Gin Soaked Boy 
  14. Troubles Braids 
  15. Rainbirds 

buy album

You are here: releases / albumtom waits

Tom Waits

Swordfishtrombones (Album)

Released 01.03.06

Available in these formats:

Available as

Digital Download: iTunes

CD: AmazonPlayHMV

About this album
Though Tom Waits had spent most of the '70s establishing himself as one of America's most distinctive singer-songwriters, SWORDFISHTROMBONES found him reinventing himself and creating one of the most original sounds in popular music. Leaving behind his Kerouac-influenced lyrics and lounge-lizard piano-bar stylings for an unprecedented eclecticism that merged Brecht-Weill artsong, Captain Beefheart-style avant blues, Harry Partch-inspired junkyard percussion, along with a healthy dose of everything else but the kitchen sink.
All this sonic exoticism would be for naught where it not accompanied by equally striking, arch songwriting. SWORDFISHTROMBONES moves from the Ken Nordine-style recitative of "Frank's Wild Years" and the demented Delta blues of "Gin Soaked Boy" to the marimba-laced shaggy-dog tale "Shore Leave" and the crazed, Loony Tunes instrumental "Dave the Butcher".
The blazed a trail that Waits (and countless imitators) would follow fruitfully for years to come, and remains one of the most impressive recordings not just of Waits's career, but of anyone's.
The Creative Corporation