Album cover


  1. Upside Down 
  2. Broken 
  3. People Watching 
  4. Wrong Turn 
  5. Talk of the Town 
  6. Jungle Gym 
  7. Were Going to Be Friends 
  8. The Sharing Song 
  9. The 3 Rs 
  10. Lullaby 
  11. With My Own Two Hands 
  12. Questions 
  13. Supposed to Be 

buy album

You are here: releases / albumjack johnson

Jack Johnson

Sing-A-Longs & Lullabies for the Film Curious George (Album)

Released 06.02.06

Available in these formats:

Available as

Digital Download: Play iTunes IslandTunes

CD: AmazonPlayHMV

About this album
Faced with the task of giving a voice to a central character that does not speak, Universal Pictures turned to Jack Johnson to craft songs that could provide a voice for Curious George. As a new father, it gave him the opportunity to make an album for both parents and children. Presented with early animations and the story line, Jack crafted new songs that capture the emotions of Curious George as he leaves the jungle to follow the Man with the Yellow Hat. He also turned to friends Ben Harper, G. Love, and Matt Costa to contribute songs that might bridge the gap between parent and child. Joined on the record by his band (Adam Topol, Merlo Podlewski, and Zack Gill), Jack duets with three of the other songwriters (Ben Harper, G. Love, and Matt Costa), and does a cover of the White Stripes' "We're Going to Be Friends." Parents who watched Schoolhouse Rock on Saturday mornings when they were children will recognize Jack's take on the classic "Three Is a Magic Number," reinterpreted with the 3 R's as a call to protect the environment and Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle. Sing-a-Longs and Lullabies feels like so much more than your standard soundtrack due to its unified creative vision. While the songs have a universal appeal, their themes speak to a child's experience (or in this case, a curious monkey's experience) of the world.
The Creative Corporation