Island Records

Disclosure are go! New album Caracal release & No.1 chart position see band perform live.

Disclosure 20/09/2015

With the release of the brand new album ‘Caracal’ and shooting straight to the top of the album charts the Disclosure lads ramped up the excitement with a series of live sessions and a huge Apple Music festival performance.

Tuesday saw the band and very special guest Sam Smith enter the BBC Radio One live lounge to perform a special cover of Drake’s ‘Hotline Bling’, next it was over to station BBC Radio One Xtra to perform new single ‘Jaded’

While Caracal is littered with an exceptional lineup of vocalists, Jaded is written and performed by Howard Lawrence himself, further proof of the brother’s ability to not only draw out the best from those they work with but also deliver it themselves to the world class standard they’re known for.

To round off an eventful day they finished with a bang live on Later…With Jools Holland, giving us an impressive taste of the new album.

 The Apple Music show at London’s Roundhouse saw the boys bring their incredible new live show to the stage. Featuring incredible animations from artwork designer Kate Moross and a spectular light show the Lawrence brothers also bought out Lion Babe and Kwabs to perform their features. Watch it again here

The new record ‘Caracal’ is a muscular and nuanced piece, with a depth to it that will pin it to the canon of dance music history. It’s crunchy and gets under your skin. A proper album album, you might say. “We feel like a band now, instead of just releasing tracks for the club. We wanted to really step out with a solid body of work and tour for two years. We’re very much an album band,” says Howard.

Disclosure are still doing what they do best – taking house and giving it a massive injection of musicality – but there’s a renewed depth and skill to this latest work. “It’s not just musicality,” they say. “It’s songwriting in its classic form, songs you can play on the piano.” The pace across ‘Caracal’ is generally slowed down, “With dance and electronica, your genre is defined by a BPM. As Disclosure we want to be known sonically, for our sound. We want to go through a variety of speeds and even genres and focus on mix and production,” says Guy.

As the culture in US changes, and moves away from EDM to a welcome Disclosure-fuelled return of the pioneering dance music genres full of character such as garage, house and techno with a modern twist, Guy and Howard will remain at the vanguard.

 Oh, and what is a ‘Caracal’ ([kar-uh-kal]?

 It’s a rarely-seen desert lynx, they explain. They are nocturnal and hang out in pairs. It’s utterly distinguishable by its beautiful ears, that end in a black, narrowed tuft. Just like this animal, Disclosure are a rare breed, and with that they’re completely unique and utterly independent in what they stand for and bring to the landscape.

Tracklisting (Deluxe Version):

  1. Nocturnal ft. The Weeknd
  2. Omen ft. Sam Smith
  3. Holding On ft. Gregory Porter
  4. Hourglass ft. Lion Babe
  5. Willing & Able ft. Kwabs
  6. Magnets ft. Lorde
  7. Jaded
  8. Good Intentions ft. Miguel
  9. Superego ft. Nao
  10. Echoes
  11. Masterpiece ft. Jordan Rakei
  12. Molecules
  13. Moving Mountains ft. Brendan Riley
  14. Bang That
  15. Afterthought

 Get ‘Caracal’ HERE


More About Disclosure