Island Records

U2 Release New Album Songs Of Experience

U2 30/11/2017

Island Records are proud to announce the release of Songs of Experience, the 14th studio album from U2, which contains thirteen new songs and will be released on 1st December 2017 on digital and CD as Standard and Deluxe, and as a double vinyl album.


The album features two recent singles in Get Out Of Your Own Way and You’re The Best Thing About Me, as well as the first taste of the album, The Blackout, originally released as a performance video in August.

Recorded in Dublin, New York and Los Angeles, Songs of Experience was completed earlier this year with its subject matter influenced by Brendan Kennelly’s* advice to Bono, to “…write as if you’re dead”. The result is a collection of songs in the form of intimate letters to places and people close to the singer’s heart: family, friends, fans, himself.

Songs Of Experience is the companion release to 2014’s ‘Songs Of Innocence’, the two titles drawing inspiration from a collection of poems, Songs of Innocence and Experience, by the 18th century English mystic and poet William Blake. Produced by Jacknife Lee and Ryan Tedder, with Steve Lillywhite, Andy Barlow and Jolyon Thomas, the album features a cover image by Anton Corbijn of band-members’ teenage children Eli Hewson and Sian Evans.

The full track listing for Songs of Experience is:

    1. Love Is All We Have Left
    2. Lights of Home
    3. You’re The Best Thing About Me
    4. Get out of Your Own Way
    5. American Soul
    6. Summer of love
    7. Red Flag Day
    8. The Showman (Little More Better)
    9. The Little Things That Give You Away
    10. Landlady
    11. The Blackout
    12. Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way
    13. 13 (There is a Light)

For more on U2, including details on the eXPERIENCE + iNNOCENCE Tour, head to u2.com.

More About U2